Top facebook2x Top twitter2x Top phone2x 01548 842593 Top email2x Email us Top subscribe2x Subscribe Top webcam2x Webcam Top search2x Basket Login Join
Home / News / Salcombe Yacht Club Bucket and Spade Series Race 1
Home / News / Salcombe Yacht Club Bucket and Spade Series Race 1

Salcombe Yacht Club Bucket and Spade Series Race 1

Published 12:28 on 6 Aug 2019

The first races of the popular Salcombe Yacht Club Bucket and Spade series were got away on Saturday 3rd August under the watchful eyes of Race Officer Richard Fulford-Smith. 

The easterly breeze resulted in the start line area being in the wind shadow of the Portlemouth shore, but as soon as this was escaped a 15 to 25mph wind allowed for speedy reaching, although the low spring tide allowed for little beating.

The juniors were first to be directed into the Bag, where they completed two laps before returning to the finish line, the Topper of Dom Holt Wilson led a closely bunched trio, taking the win from Freddie Reynolds and Issy Wood.

Next to start was the thirty boat strong Handicap fleet, which included fifteen Solos.  With a flood tide under the start and little wind to hold the fleet back, the RO had to dust off the General Recall flag that had been put away after Merlin Week; the fleet was more restrained for the second start, but an individual recall flag was flown; Ed Stephens returned, but Allister Morley and Andrew Squire didn’t.

Malcolm Mackley in his Solo sailed an amazing first beat, lifting to the first Crossways mark, whilst the rest of the fleet was short tacking; the Solos of Simon Dobson, David Greening, Bill Jago, Robin Hodges and Roger Guess were in pursuit, with Simon, David and Robin overhauling Malcolm on the fetch back to Crossways … which was to prove to be the eventual finishing order, with the Merlin of Graham and Fiona Cranford-Smith breaking total Solo domination in fifth place.

Six Salcombe Yawls came to the line and the Classic Yawl of Stephen Galvin and James Smith led the fleet on the return from Gerston, however an encounter with Dendridge Ledge saw the Savills take the lead, but Galvin hung to the coat tails of the leading modern boats sufficiently to record the corrected time victory.


1st Topper 48167                               Dom Holt Wilson

2nd Topper 48172                              Freddie Reynolds

3rd Topper 48168                               Issy Wood



1st Solo 5676                                       Simon Dobson

2nd Solo 5792                                      David Greening

3rd Solo 5598                                       Bill Jago


Salcombe Yawl

1st Salcombe Yawl 99                      Stephen Galvin and James Smith

2nd Salcombe Yawl 187                   Andrew and Liz Savell

3rd Salcombe Yawl 19                      John Smithers and Peter Hughes

Last updated 14:48 on 21 July 2021

© 2021 Salcombe Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager