Top facebook2x Top twitter2x Top phone2x 01548 842593 Top email2x Email us Top subscribe2x Subscribe Top webcam2x Webcam Top search2x Basket Login Join
Home / News / Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series Race 4 2019
Home / News / Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series Race 4 2019

Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series Race 4 2019

653792 1280x
Published 10:17 on 3 Jul 2019

With light breezes emerging from most aspects of the southerly quadrant, Race Officer Tim Fells set a conservative course within Salcombe Harbour for the dinghy racers participating in the fourth race of the Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series on 29th June.

With a flood tide, and wind shadow beneath the Salcombe shore, all of the racers chose to start and beat up the Salcombe shore to Blackstone, followed by a shortened course between Crossways and Millbay.

In the Junior Handicap it was great to see Issy Wood produce a very competent performance to finish over ten minutes ahead of the Tera Sport of Edward Alexander, who did well to finish second in the smallest boat and in challenging conditions.

Simon Ballantine continued his domination of the Medium Handicap fleet in his Aero 7, leading off the start line, on the water and on corrected time, with the Laser Radial of George Alexander just beating the Feva of the Groves into second place.

In the Fast Handicap, and in the absence of Alistair Morley, Phantom sailor Chris Cleaves led off the starting line, though was eventually overtaken on the water by the Merlin Rocket of AJ and Tris Squire, however Cleaves prevailed on corrected time.

In the twelve strong Solo fleet, David Greening led off the line on the Portlemouth shore, only to sail himself out of wind in Millbay, allowing Simon Gibbens to build up a healthy lead on the beat out to Blackstone.  After some tight racing between Greening, Simon Dobson and Peter Sturgess for the minor places, Dobson prevailed on the beat back from Crossways moving into second place at Ditch End, with Greening just holding off Sturgess to the finish.

With summer approaching, nine Salcombe Yawls took to the water, a testament to the skills of orthopaedic surgery.  The Modern Yawls of Geoff Gilson sailing with Chris Spencer Chapman and Graham and Tessa Pike led the beats, but neither of these boats built up a sufficient lead to prevent the Classic Yawls of Barney and Juanita Greenhill taking the win from Andrew Wood and Richard Morris.


Cadet Handicap

1st Topper 48168               Issy Wood

2nd RS Tera Sport 2136    Edward Alexander                          

3rd Topper 48170               James Redman 


Medium Handicap

1st RS Aero 7 1746             Simon Ballantine

2nd Laser Radial 181454  George Alexander

3rd RS Feva XL 4640          Andrew and Lewis Groves


Fast Handicap

1st Phantom 1306             Chris Cleaves

2nd Merlin Rocket 3725   AJ and Tris Squire

3rd National 12 3524        Charlie and Helen Lloyd



1st Solo 5428                       Simon Gibbens

2nd Solo 5676                      Simon Dobson

3rd Solo 5792                       David Greening



1st Salcombe Yawl 138    Barney and Juanita Greenhill

2nd Salcombe Yawl 140   Andrew Wood and Richard Morris

3rd Salcombe Yawl 170    Geoff Gilson and Chris Spencer Chapman

Last updated 14:25 on 24 September 2020

© 2020 Salcombe Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager