Top facebook2x Top twitter2x Top phone2x 01548 842593 Top email2x Email us Top subscribe2x Subscribe Top webcam2x Webcam Top search2x Basket Login Join
Home / News / Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series Race 7
Home / News / Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series Race 7

Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series Race 7

661754 1280x
Published 07:17 on 26 Jul 2019

Once again conditions were perfect for dinghy racing in Salcombe on Saturday. The wind was blowing 15 knots from the south west and the sun shone. Race Officer Paul Rayson set the handicap classes three laps of the main estuary around Blackstone and Crossways whilst the Solos and the Yawls went on a longer loop around Blackstone and Gerston before joining the rest for a couple of laps around Blackstone and Crossways.

The Juniors were first away with only two braving the fresh conditions. Dom Holt Wilson prevailed over Louis Tollins. The Medium Handicap fleet saw some very close racing, the first seven boats all finishing within just over a minute of each other on corrected time. Esther McLarty beat Ben Meek by six seconds to take victory with George Alexander in third. As has often happened this season, the Fast Handicap fleet turned into a battle of the Phantoms. Paul Ellis had the upper hand over Alistair Morley early on but in the end normal service was resumed with Alistair pulling away to victory. Bruce Hattersley just pipped the Merlin Rocket of Graham and Fiona Cranford Smith for third place.

The Solo fleet had a competitive first beat involving several lead changes. Simon Gibbens finally rounded first, closely pursued by Ed Stephens and Simon Dobson. Stephens stopped for a swim which allowed David Greening and Simon Yates to come through to join the leaders. This group remained close on a fabulous planning reach to and from Gerston but on the upwind leg to Blackstone for the second time Gibbens and Dobson pulled clear. Gibbens was always in control of the race and took the win with Greening breaking the hegemony of Simons by beating Yates for third.

In the Yawl fleet, Dan Bridger and Stephen Galvin prevailed over Andrew Wood in Sulu Bassana whilst Geoff Gilson and Chris Spencer Chapman came in third, bringing to a close another great day on the water.


Junior Handicap

1st Dom Holt-Wilson Topper

2nd Louis Tollins RS Quba

Medium Handicap

1st Esther McLarty Laser Radial

2nd Ben Meek Laser 4.7

3rd George Alexander Laser Radial

Fast Handicap

1st Alistair Morley Phantom

2nd Paul Ellis Phantom

3rd Bruce Hattersley Phantom


1st Simon Gibbens

2nd Simon Dobson

3rd David Greening

Salcombe Yawl

1st Dan Bridger and Stephen Galvin Yawl 159                       

2nd Andrew Wood Yawl 171         

3rd Geoff Gilson and Chris Spencer Chapman Yawl 170                     


661760 1280x 661758 1280x 661756 1280x

Last updated 14:48 on 21 July 2021

© 2021 Salcombe Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager