Top facebook2x Top twitter2x Top instagram2x Top phone2x 01548 842593 Top email2x Email us Top subscribe2x Subscribe Top webcam2x Webcam Top search2x Basket Login Join
Home / News / Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series Race 1
Home / News / Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series Race 1

Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series Race 1

888837 orig
Published 13:57 on 1 Jul 2021

Saturday 26th June saw the kick off of the Salcombe Yacht Club Summer Series, with a light East South Easterly breeze over a low flood tide.  Race Officer Malcolm Mackley set a course seeking to maximise windward opportunities, to Crossways then to O positioned off Lambery Point, followed by an X mark off the Ferry Inn, followed by a short loop of the harbour.

In the fast Handicap Fleet, Graham and Fiona Cranford Smith made an inauspicious and premature start from the Watchhouse end, but managed to recover following their restart to catch and overtake the Merlin Rocket of AJ and Sheila Squire, the Lark of Will and Mandy Henderson and the Aero of Tim Fells, however it was the Hendersons reigned supreme on corrected time.

In the thirteen strong Solos fleet Simon Dobson and Mark Waterhouse were early leaders at Crossways, but the fleet closed up as the early leaders helped the identification of the no wind zones on the run down to O.  Eventually David Greening led Simon Dobson and Chris Cleaves through a gap in the Hipple sand bank to break clear in fresh breeze toward mark O, with Cleaves first around.  Upon the return to the harbour Cleaves relinquished the lead to Dobson, with Greening taking third.

In the Yawls, returnees Dan and Gail Bridger sailed outside the Blackstone to draw out a respectable lead from Mike Knowles sailing with Nicky Bass, who managed to launch their Yawl just in time.  Geoff Gilson and Stephen Page secured third place.



Medium Handicap

1st Laser Radial 198905   George Alexander

2nd Laser Radial 209997  Andrew Groves

3rd Laser Radial 156215   Charlie Evans


Fast Handicap

1st Lark 2157                       Will and Mandy Henderson

2nd RS Aero 7 1505            Tim Fells

3rd Merlin Rocket 3769   Graham and Fiona Cranford Smith



1st Solo 5898                       Simon Dobson

2nd Solo 5879                      Chris Cleaves

3rd Solo 5792                       David Greening


Salcombe Yawl

1st Yawl 170                         Dan and Gail Bridger

2nd Yawl 15                          Mike Knowles and Nicky Bass

3rd Yawl 170                        Geoff Gilson and Chris Spencer Chapman

© 2022 Salcombe Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager